Good idea, you’re welcome

February 24, 2015

PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A recent release from Sharon Runner’s camp says that one of the first pieces of legislation she will propose is to make it legal to “appoint” someone to a State Senate or Assembly seat when there is only one qualified candidate running for that office and forgo the expense of an election whose outcome is certain – like hers to the 21st State Senate Seat March 17.

That a good, sound, fiscally responsible idea that I proposed in last week’s column. Gosh, I hope she's as responsive to all my suggestions when she gets to Sacramento.

Tags:

Local man trains rare German breed

February 24, 2015

Leonberger canines make for strong service pets

L.J. GAMBONE
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

After years of service to the United States in both the Navy and Naval Reserves, Apple Valley resident Carl Barnum Jr. admits he’s a little worse for the wear. During his military career, the disabled veteran said he completed dozens of parachuting jumps, which damaged his knees beyond repair.

Ranchos to invest $9 million to replace pipes

February 24, 2015

Apple Valley Ranchos Water Co. on Tuesday announced plans to invest nearly $9 million this year to replace seven miles of water mains, add a new well and install numerous fire hydrants.

The capital improvement program brings the five-year, company-funded investment to almost $35 million, it said in a statement.

Replacements are scheduled to take place throughout the year.

Getting organized starts with a list

February 17, 2015

For the Press Dispatch

Every morning we awaken to another round of housework and homework, deadlines and diapers, time clocks and tedium, never to be saved by the bell. Yes, every day we get up and do today what we didn’t even want to do yesterday. But get up we do.

So, what’s the bottom line? Where to start? This plaintive cry is heard from the kitchens of Cleveland to the shores of Shanghai. We all know we must start — we should start — but where… and how?

Arrest Logs: 02-17-15

February 17, 2015

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department or listed law enforcement agency.

Feb. 12

Mark Reinhardt, 24, was arrested in Orange County on suspicion of burglary.

Alonso Medina, 23, was arrested on suspicion of a weapons charge.

Clifford Branham, 47, was arrested on suspicion of a narcotics charge.

Sandra Svedin, 36, was arrested on suspicion of driving without a license.

Apple Valley Local Digest: 02-17-15

February 17, 2015

AVHS to host 5K Color Run

Apple Valley High School is planning its third annual 5K Color Run on Saturday.

Those who participate will be splashed and sprayed with paint while running the course. The event is open to the entire community and proceeds raised will go to support the school's various clubs and programs.

The cost is $30 to preregister or $45 the day of the event. Day-of registration begins at 7 a.m. and the race will start at 8 a.m.

Apple Valley High School is at 11837 Navajo Road in Apple Valley.

Teacher wins Jeep Cherokee in 'It's a Gas'

February 17, 2015

From Staff Reports

One Apple Valley teacher is riding around in new surroundings after her name was selected out of scores of local educators in the Victor Valley.

Apple Valley High School teacher, Tamara Alt won a new 2015 Jeep Cherokee through “It’s a Gas to Teach Class,” a program sponsored by Victorville Motors, among other local organizations. The program honors certificated teachers in the High Desert for maintaining perfect attendance throughout school year.

Around Town: Is spending the money really necessary?

February 17, 2015

by Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

I received my electronic Election Guide and Sample Ballot for the March 17 special election for the 21st Senate election and I just don’t understand why we are having an election.

Everyone dropped out of the race except Sharon Runner. There are no “qualified” write-in candidates pursuing votes and yet polls will open, expensive ballots will be mailed and no one will go out and vote — which is normal for an off year special election.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS