Dragons take 1st at Heart Games

March 11, 2015

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Despite blistery cold weather, 34 teams showed up to participate in the Apple Valley Heart Games on Sat Feb 28. All 34 teams participated in health and wellness checkpoints throughout Civic Center Park. Checkpoints included ideas such as a playground obstacle course, belly dancing, alpine skiing and a smoothie bike relay. This event is held the last weekend in February each year!

Surprise water find

March 3, 2015

BY PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Last week the Town Council approved money to design and install a pump on a heretofore forgotten well at the Apple Valley Golf Course. The old main well was in such disrepair that few wanted to spend the money to fix it and for quite some time Apple Valley Ranchos has kindly been selling town water at a reduced rate to keep the golf course alive.

Tags:

Students advance to regional fair

March 3, 2015

RIMS Science Fair to be held at National Orange Show

FROM STAFF REPORTS

In the name of science, 232 students gathered to showcase their outstanding projects at the 32nd Annual Apple Valley Unified School District Science Fair, held at Granite Hills High School. Students from represented each of AVUSD’s 14 school sites.

Digital solution letter perfect?

March 3, 2015

Anaheim company lets you leave the mailbox behind

BY L.J. GAMBONE
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

With all of the mail theft occurring these days, it hardly seems safe to leave it sit in your box for more than a few hours after it’s been delivered. Until recently, the only way to keep your correspondence safe was to install one of those expensive security boxes that come with a lock and key. Unfortunately, thieves have even found a way into those by prying them open with crowbars.

Birding — hobby or obsession?

March 3, 2015

AV environmental consultant lends hand in identifying species

BY CYNTHIA MCINTYRE
MARINE CORPS LOGISTICS BASE, BARSTOW

Explaining why you watch birds is like explaining why you like football. Or hunting. Or cake decorating. Some people will never get it. Never. Others will be mildly interested. And the chosen few will become converts.

Good idea, you’re welcome

February 24, 2015

PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A recent release from Sharon Runner’s camp says that one of the first pieces of legislation she will propose is to make it legal to “appoint” someone to a State Senate or Assembly seat when there is only one qualified candidate running for that office and forgo the expense of an election whose outcome is certain – like hers to the 21st State Senate Seat March 17.

That a good, sound, fiscally responsible idea that I proposed in last week’s column. Gosh, I hope she's as responsive to all my suggestions when she gets to Sacramento.

Tags:

Local man trains rare German breed

February 24, 2015

Leonberger canines make for strong service pets

L.J. GAMBONE
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

After years of service to the United States in both the Navy and Naval Reserves, Apple Valley resident Carl Barnum Jr. admits he’s a little worse for the wear. During his military career, the disabled veteran said he completed dozens of parachuting jumps, which damaged his knees beyond repair.

Ranchos to invest $9 million to replace pipes

February 24, 2015

Apple Valley Ranchos Water Co. on Tuesday announced plans to invest nearly $9 million this year to replace seven miles of water mains, add a new well and install numerous fire hydrants.

The capital improvement program brings the five-year, company-funded investment to almost $35 million, it said in a statement.

Replacements are scheduled to take place throughout the year.

Getting organized starts with a list

February 17, 2015

For the Press Dispatch

Every morning we awaken to another round of housework and homework, deadlines and diapers, time clocks and tedium, never to be saved by the bell. Yes, every day we get up and do today what we didn’t even want to do yesterday. But get up we do.

So, what’s the bottom line? Where to start? This plaintive cry is heard from the kitchens of Cleveland to the shores of Shanghai. We all know we must start — we should start — but where… and how?

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS