Council OKs PBID budget

June 19, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The council also approved the budget for the Village’s Property Business and Improvement District, should the special district receive approval for another five years.

Property owners voted for the special district in 2007, to improve the historic area by pooling their resources through self-imposed tax assessments and fees.

Part of those improvements include $27,000 for marketing, $20,000 for special signage and lighting, and $168,000 for property acquisition and improvements, for a total $853,654.

Council trims budget 2.5 percent

June 19, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
The council approved the Town’s $23.2 million operation and capital improvement budget for 2012-13, which was a decrease of $600,000 from the adopted budget of 2011-12.

“The budget was bittersweet with some of the cuts that we made, but most of the town services have been kept,” said Councilman Rick Roelle during the June 12 meeting. “I’m optimistic for the future of this town.”

Remembering Dale: 'She practiced what she preached'

June 19, 2012

By Dorothy M. Baird
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

I remember Dale as a loyal, trustworthy friend who showed the world where her strength came from through difficult times in her life. In other words she “practice what she preached”, that Jesus Christ was her Savior, Lord and guide in her life.

My late husband and I met Dale and Roy at Church of the Valley in the early 1980s. We developed a friendship with them and spent time playing card games, having meals together, and sharing about life and the challenges we had in our early lives.

Town boosts water-wise practices

June 19, 2012

BY THE TOWN OF APPLE VALLEY

The Town of Apple Valley is showing that water conservation practices aren’t only for residential consumers. Exchanging grass for cash, replacing sprinkler controllers and using waterless urinals are just a few of the water-saving measures the Town of Apple Valley has put into practice in recent weeks.

Ashley Berstrom wins Girl Scout Gold Award

June 19, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Ashley Bergstrom is a member of the Apple Valley Gun Club, Friends of the NRA and Junior ROTC Air Force program at the Academy for Academic Excellence.

So when she learned about a local shooting, she knew how she wanted to help.

As a Girl Scout Ambassador, the high school junior created a firearms safety program that has earned her the Gold Award, the highest award in the Girl Scouts.

Arrest logs for June 19, 2012

June 19, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

June 13
Robert Elliff was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

Christopher Mikevich was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Julio Gonzalez was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Sergio Silva was arrested on suspicion of sex crimes.

Christina Soriano was arrested on unknown charges.

Around Town: Award-winning small business

June 19, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Last week, my bride and I attended the Small Business Recognition Day in Sacramento to be presented the 59th Assembly District Business of the Year Award by Tim Donnelly. My partner was otherwise occupied, so it was time to share the glory with my “other partner”.

The day began by the TSA seizing a pocket knife and my hair spray from my shaving kit. I explained I was from Mr. Donnelly’s district and we had our own interpretation of TSA rules — they were unmoved.

Tags:

Apple Valley Christian School now homeless

June 12, 2012

School vacates AV Baptist Church campus

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Between a mountain of history books and baseball memorabilia, Apple Valley Christian School teacher Rocky Lockwood boxed-up his personal belongings and placed them in his pickup truck.
“There are a lot of memories here,” said Lockwood, as he gazed intently on a framed photo. “It’s like saying goodbye to old friends.”

Every day is Father's Day for AV mayor

June 12, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Every morning, Bob Momjian, 86, sits downs for a breakfast meeting with Mayor Barb Stanton at Johnny D’s in Apple Valley.

“She may be the mayor to everyone in Apple Valley, but she’s my daughter,” said Momjian, as he cut into his apple waffle. “I’m proud of everything she has accomplished.”

Stanton picked up the relational torch and continued the 20-year-old, father-daughter tradition, after Stanton’s sister, Elizabeth, died of cancer in August 2011.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS