Apple Valley Community Briefs 02-03-2015

February 3, 2015

Brewster Center to host five more weekends of youth soccer tournaments

Lenny Brewster Sports Center will host the Cal South State Cup Soccer Tournaments that bring youths from all over Southern California to Apple Valley.

The town will host tournaments continuing on the following weekends: Saturday and Sunday; Feb. 14 and 15; April 11 and 12, and 18 and 19. The American Youth Soccer Association Coyote Classic is played Feb. 7 and 8.

Music with a mission

January 29, 2015

Parade of Pianos puts youngsters on fast track for success

By L.J. Gambone
Apple Valley Review

Fostering musical talent among High Desert youth is among Apple Valley resident Paul Starks’ greatest passions. According to Starks, former music director for the Victor Valley Museum & Art Gallery, learning to play an instrument will put youngsters on a fast track to success for the rest of their lives.

Apple Valley Arrest Logs for 1-27-2015

January 27, 2015

ARREST LOGS

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department or listed law enforcement agency.

Jan. 22
Brandon Vess, 33, was arrested on suspicion of public intoxication.

Charles King, 29, was arrested on suspicion of threatening violence.

James Mintken, 31, was arrested on suspicion of receiving stolen property/motor vehicle.

Cassie Broadfoot, 28, was arrested on suspicion of a narcotics charge.

Apple Valley in Brief: 1-27-2015

January 27, 2015

ABC’s of Water to present drinking-water session

Mojave Water Agency will present an ABC’s of Water topic from 5 to 7 p.m. Tuesday, “What’s Really in My Drinking Water?”

Matt Howard, the agency’s senior water resources technician, will provide an overview of the constituents or elements found in High Desert water and what protocols MWA follows to meet state safe drinking-water regulations.

Attendees also will have an opportunity to watch the MWA Water Resources team in action, tour the mobile sampling vehicle and participate in water sampling tests.

Around Town: Sit! Stay!

January 27, 2015

by Pat Orr

If you fancy yourself a “dog person,” there is nothing this short of heaven like having a well-trained pooch that does what it’s told, when it’s told.

I took my very first yellow labrador to training where he taught me the ropes. Once we got our certificate and got home after a seven-week course, Sam began to modify the rules somewhat. Between episodes of restraining him from eating the mailman and swimming in our pool 10 times a day, I had little time to reinforce our training.

Tags:

Museum research influences new national monument

January 27, 2015

From Staff Reports

The San Bernardino County Museum had a big hand in the new designation of a national monument.

Tule Springs Fossil Beds National Monument, America’s newest signed into law last month, is located north of Las Vegas, Nevada. It’s the first national monument in America dedicated to fossils from the Ice Ages, and the nation’s first such monument in an urban setting.

Ranchos begins $1 million water system upgrade

January 27, 2015

Water main project expected to be completed in April

From Staff Reports

On Monday, Apple Valley Ranchos Water Co. began a large water main replacement project in the area of Symeron, Mondamon, Pohez and Apple Valley roads. This project will occur mostly in the public utilities easement, however it will cross Symeron and Apple Valley roads with the new water main. This project will replace 4,300 feet of old 12-inch steel pipe with a new 20-inch ductile iron water main. The project is expected to be completed on April 17.

New Year’s resolution: Loose-leash walking with your dog

January 23, 2015

By Jason Rae
For the APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

If your resolution is to get in shape this year what better way to start than going on long walks with your dog? However, that’s not possible if your dog doesn’t know how to walk on a leash properly.

Today, insideoutdogtraining.com is going to show you how to train him. (Visit www.vvdailypress.com to see the video webisode.)

Let’s start out by covering what equipment you don’t need:
— No prong collars
— No choke collars
— No harnesses

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS