Things could get ugly this political season

August 3, 2016

By Pat Orr

Now that the filing period for local offices is underway, prepare for the onslaught of disguised campaign attacks.

My political “operatives” tell me that the “challenger corps” out there is digging up as much dirt as possible to use on incumbents because there is little else to run a campaign on. Trumped up charges (no pun intended) of “conflict-of-interest,” back room deal making and personal attacks and rumors leaked by surrogates acting as “government watchdogs” is a popular, though tired tactic.

Standing tall for America: Apple Valley man carries American flag around High Desert hoping to unite the people

August 3, 2016

By Rene De La Cruz

APPLE VALLEY — As the hot summer sun beats down, a sweaty Phil Beaumont carries a large American flag down Bear Valley Road as commuters speed by.

The 60-year-old Beaumont is hesitant to speak with the Daily Press at first, but says his “love for God, country and the American people” motivates him to speak out.

“I carry this flag because I love America and I want people to know that every day is Independence Day,” said Beaumont, who lives in Apple Valley and began his daily walks throughout the High

Pereira named Employee of the Quarter

August 3, 2016

By Staff Reports

APPLE VALLEY — They say good things come in small packages. That phrase certainly applies to the Town of Apple Valley’s latest Employee of the Quarter honoree, Paula Pereira, though don’t let her small stature fool you.

Among her many tasks, Pereira has wrangled the town’s largest construction project to date — the Yucca Loma Bridge and Yucca Loma Road construction and widening projects.

Haprov takes new job; Kawasaki named weeklies editor

July 28, 2016

From Staff Reports

Saying goodbye is never easy but the time has come for longtime Daily Press staffer Martial Haprov to move on to another adventure.

Haprov, who has been the editor of the Hesperia Star and Apple Valley Review weekly newspapers since 2009, officially left his position on Friday to take a job in the personnel services department of the Victor Elementary School District.

While Haprov admits he is going to miss the newspaper business greatly, he said he is looking forward to all the new opportunities that lie ahead.

From freshman to finding friends and family

July 28, 2016

By Martial Haprov
For the Apple Valley Review

Nearly nine years ago, Angie Callahan offered me a position designing graphics for the Daily Press.

Less than a year later, I transitioned to the newsroom, writing obituaries, running simple office operations and offering the occasional input on news stories. As time went on, I was given the enormous opportunity to be the editor of six weekly publications and I’ve been trusted with my knowledge of our local history and my experience in reporting and editing local news stories.

Help can be a phone call away

July 28, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Last week I attended a meeting facilitated by the California Small Business Association between local business owners and Assemblyman Jay Obernolte, R-Hesperia, and staff. It was alternately depressing and instructive.

Most of us around the table, including the Assemblyman were small business owners. I like voting for someone to represent me who has experience signing the front of the paycheck because they get what we go through in California to keep our head above water.

Tags:

Hospital trains for active shooters

July 20, 2016

More than 65 hospital leaders attend training

Staff Reports

St. Joseph Health, St. Mary recently hosted a presentation by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department on active shooters. The special event was attended by more than 65 hospital leaders.

“Hospitals are always busy, a 24/7 business,” said Deputy Brendan Mahoney. “It’s always important to have that mantra – if you see something, say something.”

St. Joseph Health, St. Mary’s number one priority is keeping its patients, guests and staff safe, hospital officials said.

'Pokemon' to go

July 20, 2016

Put these local and historic areas on your list

By Monica Solano and Charity Lindsey
Staff Writers

In just one week, 10 million people have caught “Pokemon Go” fever, and High Desert residents are not immune.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS