Must-have mom gear to help kids start school off right

August 11, 2016


Going from lax summer schedules to the hectic back-to-school season can put even the most organized moms on edge. Luckily, arming your family with key items can transform back-to-school season from super stressful to supremely simple.

Back in app-tion

From scoring deals to making homework manageable, great apps can make back-to-school season easier and more affordable.

AVUSD goes back to school

August 11, 2016

By Siri Osborne

With school back in session, the Apple Valley Unified School District will be providing its schools with more college and career preparation programs and focusing its efforts on increasing student safety for the new school year.

In order to help students get a better sense of what area of study they are most interested in, AVUSD is planning to bring more science, technology, engineering, art and math into the classrooms.

Kicking off the new year: Hoegerman, Alejandre speak at AVUSD staff meeting

August 11, 2016

By Staff Reports

Over 700 certificated and classified Apple Valley Unified School District staff members gathered at Granite Hills High School on Aug. 1 to prepare for the arrival of the district’s 13,000 students, who began the school year on Wednesday.

The third annual AVUSD Kick-off began at 7:15 a.m. with a networking breakfast, catered by the Granite Hills’ Cougar Kitchen, led by Margie Morgan.

At 8 a.m., staff funneled into the high school's gymnasium for the official Kick-off ceremony.

Things could get ugly this political season

August 3, 2016

By Pat Orr

Now that the filing period for local offices is underway, prepare for the onslaught of disguised campaign attacks.

My political “operatives” tell me that the “challenger corps” out there is digging up as much dirt as possible to use on incumbents because there is little else to run a campaign on. Trumped up charges (no pun intended) of “conflict-of-interest,” back room deal making and personal attacks and rumors leaked by surrogates acting as “government watchdogs” is a popular, though tired tactic.

Standing tall for America: Apple Valley man carries American flag around High Desert hoping to unite the people

August 3, 2016

By Rene De La Cruz

APPLE VALLEY — As the hot summer sun beats down, a sweaty Phil Beaumont carries a large American flag down Bear Valley Road as commuters speed by.

The 60-year-old Beaumont is hesitant to speak with the Daily Press at first, but says his “love for God, country and the American people” motivates him to speak out.

“I carry this flag because I love America and I want people to know that every day is Independence Day,” said Beaumont, who lives in Apple Valley and began his daily walks throughout the High

Pereira named Employee of the Quarter

August 3, 2016

By Staff Reports

APPLE VALLEY — They say good things come in small packages. That phrase certainly applies to the Town of Apple Valley’s latest Employee of the Quarter honoree, Paula Pereira, though don’t let her small stature fool you.

Among her many tasks, Pereira has wrangled the town’s largest construction project to date — the Yucca Loma Bridge and Yucca Loma Road construction and widening projects.

Haprov takes new job; Kawasaki named weeklies editor

July 28, 2016

From Staff Reports

Saying goodbye is never easy but the time has come for longtime Daily Press staffer Martial Haprov to move on to another adventure.

Haprov, who has been the editor of the Hesperia Star and Apple Valley Review weekly newspapers since 2009, officially left his position on Friday to take a job in the personnel services department of the Victor Elementary School District.

While Haprov admits he is going to miss the newspaper business greatly, he said he is looking forward to all the new opportunities that lie ahead.

From freshman to finding friends and family

July 28, 2016

By Martial Haprov
For the Apple Valley Review

Nearly nine years ago, Angie Callahan offered me a position designing graphics for the Daily Press.

Less than a year later, I transitioned to the newsroom, writing obituaries, running simple office operations and offering the occasional input on news stories. As time went on, I was given the enormous opportunity to be the editor of six weekly publications and I’ve been trusted with my knowledge of our local history and my experience in reporting and editing local news stories.


Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS