Gary Anthony doing it 'Frank's way'

February 3, 2016

By L.J. Gambone
Apple Valley Review

“I planned each charted course, each careful step along the byway. And more, much more than this, I did it my way.” From Frank Sinatra’s recording, “My Way.”

Just like Frank Sinatra, veteran entertainer and Sinatra tribute artist Gary Anthony paved his road to success his way from the start.

Anthony, who will take the stage in “Dean and Frank: That’s Amore” at 7 p.m. Friday at the Apple Valley Golf Course, said he began crafting his career path at the age of 7, sitting in with his father’s big band.

A good investment?

February 3, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Gov. Jerry Brown and others whined about a lack of funds to build our water infrastructure so like lemmings we went ahead and passed Proposition 1 enabling the Sacramento politicians to spend hundreds of millions on what exactly?

New dams, reservoirs and watershed projects were promised.

Well, they have actually started spending the money and here are the priority spending items they chose.

Tags:

Centered on learning

January 28, 2016

Hospital opens clinical learning center

From Staff Reports

On Thursday, St. Joseph Health, St. Mary hosted the opening of its new clinical learning center. This new center aims to provide high quality staff education to enhance clinical skills and reasoning in a safe environment.

The inmates are running the asylum

January 28, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The move toward diversity and political correctness has made another giant leap into ridiculousness with the news that "activists" are encouraging a boycott of the Academy Awards because not enough “people of color” are being recognized for achievement in film.

This is an industry so liberal that they now celebrate communists who were blacklisted during the 1950s.

Tags:

Chamber Singers 'Make a Joyful Noise'

January 22, 2016

Students welcome eighth graders for performing arts camp

From Staff Reports

Over the last two weekends, the Granite Hills High School Chamber Singers welcomed more than 30 third through eighth grade students to campus for the annual Performing Arts Camp, “Make a Joyful Noise.” This year’s theme was “Music From Around the World” and featured musical numbers indigenous to various countries.

Town club encourages locals to swim 100 miles within year

January 22, 2016

By L.J. Gambone
Apple Valley Review

The challenge is on! This month, the Town of Apple Valley launched its new 100 Mile Swim Club program, giving High Desert residents the chance to swim 100 miles before the pool closes on Dec. 16.

For a fee, participants can complete their laps at town’s Aquatic Center, 14999 Dale Evans Parkway. Throughout the year, swimmers will be awarded prizes and certificates to mark their accomplishments on the way to their ultimate goal.

Oils best way to heal ailments, advocate says

January 22, 2016

By L.J. Gambone
Apple Valley Review

While there are all kinds of ways to heal our ailments, wellness advocate Marie Petry said she believes wholeheartedly that nothing that can beat the restorative power of essential oils.

Aiming to teach the public about their endless array of benefits, she will hold a free essential oil workshop at 6:15 p.m. Feb. 3 at the Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce, 16010 Apple Valley Road.

The class will feature products by doTERRA, one of the top manufacturers of therapeutic oils in the world.

Stick it to the employers – always

January 22, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

I routinely complain about how tough it is to do business in California without ever using many specific examples.

I have owned a business in California since 1980. The first was tiny (my wife and I and a few part-timers); the second one has grown into a 200-employee operation.

My biggest concern is for the smaller retailer and service companies who survive payroll to payroll and wait by the mailbox for customer payments to come in to see if they can pay the rent.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS