An advocacy award for a lifetime of service

March 26, 2013

Norm Dollar to receive award on Thursday

By Davida Siwisa James
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Apple Valley resident Norm Dollar is one of several people who will be honored at the Children’s Network Shine-a-Light on Child Abuse Prevention Awards Breakfast on Thursday in San Bernardino.

Dollar, who recently retired from the County of San Bernardino’s Children and Family Services, will receive the Lifetime Advocate Award for 32 years of service.

He and his wife moved to Apple Valley in 1980, right after graduate school.

Around Town: Scout

March 26, 2013

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

When I brought Scout home from the animal shelter, he took up residence in a doggie bed next to my side of the bed. My wife had to go out of town for four days right when we brought Scout home, so naturally we bonded, he and I.

A week ago, Scout died in that bed next to me as we pleaded for him not to go. We’ll never know if it was a blood clot or a heart attack.

As he gasped his last breaths, we held him, heartbroken in our helplessness at 5:30 a.m. watching this loyal, loving friend leave us too soon.

Tags:

Arrest logs for March 26, 2013

March 26, 2013

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Those whose charges have been dismissed or significantly changed may write to us at News@AppleValley-Review.com. We will investigate the matter. No phone calls.

March 20
Dustin Ellis was arrested on suspicion of sex crimes.

Richard Mahn was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Hopping over the bunnies

March 19, 2013

Local sanctuary owners caution against rabbit purchases for Easter

By Davida Siwisa James
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

As Easter approaches, the Rabbit People and Small Mammal Habitat Sanctuary encourage locals to think twice before purchasing what could be the ultimate holiday impulse: a rabbit.

Nancy Camello and Dan Duffy operate the nonprofit sanctuary, where they rescue all kinds of animals, including tortoises.

Q&A with Zayra Hall: Getting back to moral basics

March 19, 2013

Zayra Hall grew up in Cerritos. She said she loved that her community was made up of different cultures, languages and faiths.

Hall’s mother was an immigrant from Honduras and while her father was a World War II veteran. Even though her mother spoke three languages her English was her worst.

“Translating for her was part of my job at home,” Hall said. It was this skill that helped Hall get her job as a bilingual para-educator.

Paying respects

March 19, 2013

MARTIAL HAPROV, APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Mourners line up at Sunset Hills Memorial Park and Mortuary Thursday morning to honor Ken Chambers, long time president of Sundland Ford in Victorville. Chambers died February 25. He was 65 and an Apple Valley resident.

Town searching for clean up day volunteers

March 19, 2013

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Join the team and keep Apple Valley clean from 8:30 a.m. to noon April 20 at the annual Community Clean Up Day.

Community service organizations, schools, churches, clubs and individual volunteers are invited to participate in this free event. Clean up teams are provided with trash bags and gloves and assigned an area to clean. In return, participants get event T-shirts and lunch while supplies last.

Volunteers must sign up in advance to get supplies and assignments and fill out a liability waiver. To participate, call 760-240-7000, ext. 7071.

Registration open for Mother’s Day luncheon

March 19, 2013

FROM STAFF REPORTS

The Town of Apple Valley Recreation Department will host a special luncheon for mothers and daughters on May 11.

Moms and daughters will participate in Mother’s Day games, crafts and activities beginning at 11 a.m., followed by a light lunch, drinks and dessert.

Registration is open now through May 8 and costs $7 per person.

The luncheon will be at the town’s recreation center, 14955 Dale Evans Parkway.

For more information or to register, visit www.AVRecreation.org or call (760) 240-7880.

Donate blood, receive goodies

March 19, 2013

FROM STAFF REPORTS

The town of Apple Valley will host a LifeStream blood drive from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. today in the Conference Center at 14975 Dale Evans Parkway in Apple Valley adjacent to Town Hall.

If saving a life isn’t enough of an incentive, LifeStream gives away enticing goodies for each donation including donor loyalty points from LifeStream that you can redeem for complimentary items.

Apple Valley to host April health summit

March 19, 2013

FROM STAFF REPORTS

The High Desert Health Summit is coming to Apple Valley, according to a news release.

The town’s conference center will play host to the conference from 8:30 a.m. to noon April 11. The event is sponsored by Healthy High Desert, a collaborative organized to improve the health of High Desert residents.

Dr. Maxwell Ohikhaure, San Bernardino County Public Health Officer, is scheduled to deliver the welcoming address at the annual conference, according to the release.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS