Supporting the alternative

June 25, 2013

Local couple run home-school support organization

By Davida Siwisa James
Apple Valley Review

Some families just want something different for their child’s education.

That’s where LeRoy and Deborah Person come in.

The Persons have owned and operated Cornerstone Christian Academy in Apple Valley for 14 years.

AV grads get scholarship nods

June 25, 2013

Ferrarese foundation awards young philanthropists with $4,000 each

From Staff Reports

Two class of 2013 graduates who’ve made positive contributions to the local community were the recipients of scholarships this month from the Don Ferrarese Charitable Foundation.

Alyssa Valenzuela from Granite Hills High School and Samantha Clark from Apple Valley High School were among 10 other recipients from various high schools throughout the High Desert, according to a news release from the foundation.

Around Town: A ‘prayer budget’

June 25, 2013

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Several years ago my best friend cajoled me into joining him on the finance team of the large local church we both attended. As business owners we believed we could bring something to the budget process and help the church clean up its finances.

What we found was the church was in trouble because each year the leadership team would sit around a table, write down what each group wanted in terms of money, add it all up and call it their annual budget.

They never looked at what was actually coming in.

Tags:

Arrest logs for June 25, 2013

June 25, 2013

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Those whose charges have been dismissed or significantly changed may write to us at News@AppleValley-Review.com. We will investigate the matter. No phone calls.

June 19
Lydia Kies was arrested on suspicion of assault and battery.

Zena Lewis was arrested on suspicion of narcotics charges.

Bascom inducted into sports hall of fame

June 18, 2013

Earl Bascom credited as ‘Father of Modern Rodeo’

By Martial Haprov
EDITOR

A late Apple Valley resident was recently inducted to a Canadian hall of fame for his role as a pioneer in the American and Canadian rodeo scenes.

Earl Bascom, who died in 1995 in Victorville, was recognized by the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame as a rodeo champion and who is credited as the “Father of Modern Rodeo” and “Father of Rodeo Bareback Riding,” according to his son, John Bascom, also an Apple Valley resident.

Around Town: Sadie

June 18, 2013

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Regular readers of this column will recall my story about our dog, Scout. I had more reaction to that column than any other I have ever written.

After Scout’s rather traumatic exit, my wife and I decided we would be patient and wait some time before considering another animal. We knew there was no replacing Scout and felt we needed to get our emotions in check before we brought a new pet into our home.

We were wrong.

Tags:

Arrest logs for June 18, 2013

June 18, 2013

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Those whose charges have been dismissed or significantly changed may write to us at News@AppleValley-Review.com. We will investigate the matter. No phone calls.

June 12
Michael Sebulsky was arrested in Riverside County on suspicion of misdemeanor offenses.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS