Around Town: The ultimate self esteem trip

July 10, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

In my view, John and the Supremes had a terrible week not long ago where they made more than one wrong call regarding our Constitution. Most widely covered of course was the health care decision. The spin on that is that it’s up to us to elect people who won’t pass bad laws.

The court can’t help us with bad laws if they seem to be constitutional. Gosh, slavery, segregation and a host of other bad behaviors were attacked by the courts leading to change, but now it is up to us according to the Chief Justice.

Tags:

Arrest logs for July 10, 2012

July 10, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

July 4
Mason McKelvey was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

Ronald Arnold was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Larry Rustad was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Manuel Garcia was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Michael Crawford was arrested on suspicion of assault and battery.

Jose Guzman was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Town Council halts fee increases — for now

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
After discussing a resolution that would have raised a number of service fees, the council voted 5-0 to table the issue for a future meeting.

“We tout ourselves as business friendly, but this is not a welcome mat,” said Mayor Barb Stanton, during the June 26 meeting. “I’m against raising fees, every penny in the bank account is the people’s money.”

Biking enthusiast wants to organize bike race

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
After pedaling nearly 400,000 miles on his bike, suffering several heart attacks and surviving one open heart surgery, Chuck Hanson, 81, still has a lot of road to travel.

“I started riding in 1979 because I gained about 40 pounds and I needed to lose weight,” said Hanson, whose goal of losing a few pounds turned into a 33-year passion. “Before you know it, I was riding from San Francisco to L.A. on my 50th birthday, and riding cross-country five times.”

Q&A with Mark Taylor: Doing the right thing

July 3, 2012

Retired San Bernardino County Sheriff’s captain Mark Taylor was born in Ohio. Because his father was in the Air Force, the family moved to a lot of different places, including Europe for four years, when Taylor was in elementary school.
“This allowed me to see some wonderful places and things while I was growing up,” he said.
When his dad was transferred to George AFB in 1971, the family settled in Apple Valley.

Tags:

Apple Valley Soroptimists honor award winners

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Barbara Nunez was all smiles, as the bright-eyed teenager accepted the Soroptimist’s Violet Richardson Award for her more than of 700 volunteer hours at St. Joseph Health, St. Mary.

“Volunteering has really helped me in my maturity, and in so many other ways,” said Nunez, 17, who has served at the medical center for the last two years. “It’s given me a better understanding of life, and the people around me.”

Freedom Festival kicks off Wednesday afternoon

July 3, 2012

Celebrate freedom with live entertainment and fireworks from 2 to 9 p.m. Wednesday at the 14th annual Freedom Festival at Lenny Brewster Sports Center.

Festivities include children’s games, the Apple Valley Fire Protection District’s Jr. Combat Challenge, bounce houses, food, beer garden and vendors. There will be a water spectacular at 4:15 p.m., the national anthem at 6 p.m., live music from Lynyrd Skynyrd tribute band Southbound at 6:30 p.m. and a flag retirement at dusk.

Admission is free. Bring canopies and chairs, but no alcohol, pets or barbecues will be allowed.

Departments close for upcoming holiday

July 3, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Most Town departments will be closed in observance of Independence Day this week.

Apple Valley Town Hall will be closed Wednesday and Thursday, as well as Friday for its regularly scheduled bi-weekly closure.

Essential services will still be performed and building inspections will be offered on Thursday and Friday. The Household Hazardous Waste collection center will be open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

Arrest logs for July 3, 2012

July 3, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

June 27
Todd Carrick was arrested on suspicion of burglary.

Gilbert Reyes was arrested on suspicion of kidnapping.

Ronnie Jackson was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

Jeffrey Schwing was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Janice French was arrested on suspicion of assault and battery.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS