Yucca Loma Bridge, food vendors on council agenda

March 13, 2012

BY Rene De La Cruz
Apple Valley Review

As final designs and acquisition of necessary right-of-way for the Yucca Loma Bridge near completion, a funding agreement between the town of Apple Valley and the San Bernardino Associated Governments will be discussed during tonight’s council meeting.

The agreement includes a 45 percent fund pledge from SANBAG, with the town’s pledge at 55 percent coming from RDA bonds originally specified for the project.

Q & A with Dustin Bogle: The ultimate transformer

March 13, 2012

From a 270-pound teen to Solera’s buffed-out fitness guru Dustin Bogle, fitness trainer at Solera, was born and raised in Rialto and spent most of his teenage years and young adult life in Rancho Cucamonga before moving to Hesperia in 2003.

As a youngster he didn’t have any desire to get in involved with athletics or exercise in any form.

“I was content with sitting indoors, playing video games and eating junk food,” he said. “Not exactly on track to be a future fitness trainer.”

Tags:

Around Town: Don't go green

March 13, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Saturday is my second birthday. That’s what my mother told me growing up anyway. As an Irishman named Patrick it has always annoyed me that other ethnic groups continually try to usurp my day and use it as an excuse to party hearty. We Irish take no mind of Columbus Day, Cinco de Mayo, or Bastille Day so why can’t we be left alone to enjoy our bacon, cabbage, potatoes and beer in peace?

Tags:

Arrest Logs

March 13, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

March 7
Pawenvir Virk was arrested on suspicion of selected traffic violations.
Joseph Lopez was arrested on suspicion of petty theft.

Fire district prepares for cuts

March 6, 2012

AMR medic crew will remain at Jess Ranch station; Apple Valley Ranchos grant boosts public education outreach

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
Staffing cutbacks at the Jess Ranch fire station have some residents concerned.

Chief Art Bishop, with the Apple Valley Fire Protection District, said the group was worried that weekly medical services provided at Solera Fire Station No. 337 would be eliminated after March 10, when the 24-hour staffed fire house transitions to a five-day-a-week, eight-hour-a-day operation.

Mayor speaks to AV Lions Club about RDA funds, empty homes, water rates

March 6, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

As snow began falling outside the Star East Buffet Restaurant, Mayor Barbara Stanton was inside giving the Apple Valley Lions Club a mini-version of the state of the town address.

After sharing a meal and conversation Feb. 27 with local members, Stanton jumped into her 40-minute presentation.

Stanton, a former radio talk show host, said it was very easy for her to “right the world” behind a microphone, but very different when she began understanding the world of city government.

Remembering Dale: Calling her a friend

March 6, 2012

By Marilyn Pierson
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Let me introduce who we are and how we became involved with Happy Trails Children’s Foundation.

We’re known to most of the Western community as “Slick and Sidekick” — or Curt and Marilyn Pierson. It all started in 1998. For several years we’d been going to celebrity collector shows and became part of the crew for “Jeff’s Star Talk.” His show interviewed Roy and Dale at their Victorville museum, and we got our photos with them. We soon became acquainted with other celebrities.

Tags:

Optimists go to bat for Jr. Mavs Pony League team

March 6, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Apple Valley Optimist Club is helping to sponsor the High Desert Jr. Mavericks Pony League baseball team.

“We bought all their uniforms,” Vicki Murray, Apple Valley Optimist Club said. “Our club was impressed with the quality of these kids. You need to be invited on to the team so needless to say these kids are very good at playing baseball.”

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS