A glimpse at tragedy

April 2, 2013

Granite Hills High School, CHP present 'Every 15 Minutes' mock DUI collision scene, aftermath

By Martial Haprov
EDITOR

Friends and family mourned the lives of 27 Granite Hills High School students who were ceremoniously dead for a day.

The students were pulled out of their classrooms one by one every 15 minutes on Thursday, and had no contact with anyone other than each other for nearly 24 hours.

Q&A with Tanya Miley: Living where her heart is

April 2, 2013

Cadillac Ranch waitress and Apple Valley resident Tanya Miley grew up in Hesperia. She attended to Juniper Elementary School. When she was in the fourth grade, her mom moved her and younger sisters to Corona, where they lived until Miley graduated from Centennial High School.

“Duing my high school years, I was on the varsity swim team and played tennis,” Miley said. “After I graduated — like, literally, the next day — I packed up my car and moved to San Diego.”

Tags:

A.V. football player wins helmet in photo contest

April 2, 2013

FROM STAFF REPORTS

One local youth football player won a brand new helmet after he took first place in a photo contest on Facebook.

The High Desert Patriots Youth Football and Cheer Program announced last week that their starting varsity quarterback, Cameron Wilson, 13, of Apple Valley, won a state of the art Xenith football helmet in the “2013 Steve Clarkson’s Field Generals Facebook Photo Contest.”

Arrest logs for April 2, 2013

April 2, 2013

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Those whose charges have been dismissed or significantly changed may write to us at News@AppleValley-Review.com. We will investigate the matter. No phone calls.

March 27
Noe Romo was arrested on suspicion of misdemeanor charges.

Kyle McCurry was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

In for a swim

March 26, 2013

Kenneth Sousa, Apple Valley Review
The Civic Center Park Aquatic Center in Apple Valley hosted a special one-week-only set of Spring Break swim lessons last week. The Aquatic Center will have its Swim Fair on
May 18, followed by its annual summer swim lessons beginning on May 21. Private one-on-one lessons are also available. For more information contact the town of Apple Valley Park & Recreation Department at 760-240-7880 or visit www.AVRecreation.org.

AV chosen as 'Best City' in High Desert

March 26, 2013

More than two dozen AV locations take ‘Best’ honors

By Martial Haprov
EDITOR

In 27 separate categories, Apple Valley-based businesses, shops and schools took top honors in the Daily Press’ 2013 Best of the Desert survey.
And among those recognized, readers chose the town of Apple Valley as No. 1 in the “city” category.

Mayor Curt Emick credits the town’s residents and services as why readers voted for Apple Valley.

Q&A with Rich Sumner: Faith, family, music man

March 26, 2013

Rich Sumner was born in West Covina in 1961. He said his dad wanted to get away from the traffic and the smog so he and his wife moved the family to Apple Valley in 1970.

“We’ve seen so many changes here in those 43 years — now we have our own smog and traffic,” Sumner said with a laugh. “Many people put down living here in the desert, but I do love it here. It’s home. It does have a beauty of it’s own. I’m just like everybody else though in that I do love to see green living things.”

Town set to launch 'Operation Cat Nip'

March 26, 2013

Council to vote on program aimed at trapping, sterilizing, returning feral cats

By Martial Haprov
Editor

The Town Council will vote tonight on implementing a pilot program to trap, alter and return feral cats within the community, according to a town news release.

Town staff are recommending the council approve launching “Operation Cat Nip,” a targeted “Trap-Neuter-Return” program. The goal of the program is to reduce the numbers of cats impounded and euthanized annually at the town’s municipal animal shelter, according to the release.

An advocacy award for a lifetime of service

March 26, 2013

Norm Dollar to receive award on Thursday

By Davida Siwisa James
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Apple Valley resident Norm Dollar is one of several people who will be honored at the Children’s Network Shine-a-Light on Child Abuse Prevention Awards Breakfast on Thursday in San Bernardino.

Dollar, who recently retired from the County of San Bernardino’s Children and Family Services, will receive the Lifetime Advocate Award for 32 years of service.

He and his wife moved to Apple Valley in 1980, right after graduate school.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS