My Turn: The future of America and the 2012 election

March 20, 2012

BY Dan Jeffs
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

People’s civic ignorance of American history up to the present, is an indictment of parents’ irresponsibility and the misfeasance of the public education system.

Public ignorance is how dishonest social, legal, political, academic, media and economic brokers prey on society for personal gain, influence and power.

Tags:

Letter to the Editor 03-20-12

March 20, 2012

Congratulations for a job well done

To simply say these words to a deputy like Paul Sinclair just seems a bit inadequate. (Daily Press, March 9)

Deputy Sinclair arrived on the scene just after the baby was born, but not breathing. Without hesitation, he immediately began to administer CPR, and saved the baby's life. How awesome!

Paul Sinclair is one of the finest men we have ever had the pleasure to meet. He is a prime example of what a San Bernardino County Deputy Sheriff should be.

Tags:

Arrest Logs

March 20, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

March 14
Albert Youngs was arrested on suspicion of felony theft.

March 13
Jesse Hernandez was arrested on unknown charges.
Rachel Vega was arrested on unknown charges.
Edward Vega was arrested on unknown charges.

Ready to retire: Captain Bart Belknap looks back

March 13, 2012

Belknap to step away after nearly 30 years with sheriff’s department

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

During his first ride-along three decades ago, Bart Belknap followed a female deputy cautiously through a vacant house in San Bernardino. It was a moment that would forever change his life.

“I still remember that day like it was yesterday,” said Belknap, captain of the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Apple Valley station. “When she drew her gun it was such an adrenaline rush, and that’s when I was hooked on being a cop.”

AV Christian supporters scramble to raise funds

March 13, 2012

Foundation forming to keep school open past June

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Eighth-grader Jeff Ricker was excited after hearing a deal had been reached between Apple Valley Christian School and the elders of Apple Valley Baptist Church that might allow recently laid off teachers to return for the remainder of the school year.

“I wasn’t a Christian before going there, but I gave my life to Christ at that school,” Ricker said. “I feel better, but I hope they’ll be a school next year. These people are a part of my life.”

Town reviews tough mid-year budget

March 13, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
Apple Valley Review
 
The devastating loss of $6.6 million dollars in local tax increments after dissolving redevelopment was one of the many items discussed during the council’s 2011-12 mid-year budget review meeting.

The budget report, discussed during Thursday’s special meeting, highlighted changes since the budget’s adoption in August 2011.

The report also included changes in economic conditions that may have impacted the budget over the last year.

Yucca Loma Bridge, food vendors on council agenda

March 13, 2012

BY Rene De La Cruz
Apple Valley Review

As final designs and acquisition of necessary right-of-way for the Yucca Loma Bridge near completion, a funding agreement between the town of Apple Valley and the San Bernardino Associated Governments will be discussed during tonight’s council meeting.

The agreement includes a 45 percent fund pledge from SANBAG, with the town’s pledge at 55 percent coming from RDA bonds originally specified for the project.

Q & A with Dustin Bogle: The ultimate transformer

March 13, 2012

From a 270-pound teen to Solera’s buffed-out fitness guru Dustin Bogle, fitness trainer at Solera, was born and raised in Rialto and spent most of his teenage years and young adult life in Rancho Cucamonga before moving to Hesperia in 2003.

As a youngster he didn’t have any desire to get in involved with athletics or exercise in any form.

“I was content with sitting indoors, playing video games and eating junk food,” he said. “Not exactly on track to be a future fitness trainer.”

Tags:

Around Town: Don't go green

March 13, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Saturday is my second birthday. That’s what my mother told me growing up anyway. As an Irishman named Patrick it has always annoyed me that other ethnic groups continually try to usurp my day and use it as an excuse to party hearty. We Irish take no mind of Columbus Day, Cinco de Mayo, or Bastille Day so why can’t we be left alone to enjoy our bacon, cabbage, potatoes and beer in peace?

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS