Full house for 'Coffee with the Mayor'

February 21, 2012

Mayor Barb Stanton, staff meet with area residents

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A crowd of nearly 50 people packed The Grind Coffee House in Apple Valley, in order to share their thoughts and concerns with Mayor Barb Stanton, who scheduled the event as part of her promise to keep the doors of transparency open.

Originally dubbed “Coffee with the Mayor,” the Thursday morning meeting quickly morphed into a networking event, where town residents met face-to-face
with Stanton, town staff and a variety of community leaders.

Historically speaking: Apple Valley’s good old days

February 21, 2012

By Ken Peterson
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

My earliest recollection of Apple Valley is when I was around 9 years old in 1953.

We made the trip on weekends from Lynwood to work on building my aunt and uncle’s one-room cabin in the Sycamore Rocks area of northern Apple Valley. There was nothing for miles after getting off of the I-15 Freeway except a scattering of homestead house throughout the desert.

Q & A with James Hubbard: Helping others beat depression

February 21, 2012

Jim Hubbard was born in 1944 in a small rural town in eastern Colorado about 150 miles east of Denver.

His parents taught their four children at a very early age how to work hard and be responsible and dependable. They all learned the realities of ranching: hard work, perseverance, self-sufficiency, pride — and at times — even stubbornness. Some of those traits became the hallmarks of his life, and others became somewhat of a problem as he grew older.

Tags:

Arrest Logs

February 21, 2012

Note: Due to a technical error, arrest logs for the days of Feb. 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13 were unavailable at press time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Feb. 15
Jonathan Gammill was arrested on suspicion of petty theft.
Joseph Lacanlale was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

Shock value

February 14, 2012

Marines, deputies motivate troubled students through SHOCK

By Pfc. Victoria Fairchild
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Local Marines and the Apple Valley Police Activities League are working together with 18 students from the Apple Valley Unified School District in a 10-week program called SHOCK, the acronym for self-discipline, honor, obedience, character and knowledge.

The program is designed to help direct troubled teenagers ages 13 to 17 in the right direction to a brighter future.

Q&A with Ray Hamel: Finding the joy in life

February 14, 2012

Rene “Ray” J. Hamel was born and raised in the small Massachusetts town of Gardner, about 70 miles west of Boston in July 1927.

Fearing the draft, Hamel enlisted in the Navy after high school and was stationed in the Philippines during World War II, where he enjoyed the people and culture during his two-year stay.

“World War II ended while I was in boot camp so I didn’t see any action,” Hamel said. “I didn’t like the military at all because I didn’t like taking orders, but I did my job.”

Tags:

Stanton to begin monthly 'Coffee with the Mayor' Thursday

February 14, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Mayor Barb Stanton will invite citizens to join her for coffee, Thursday morning — keeping a promise she made the night she was appointed, and to keep the doors of transparency open.

“It is important that our citizens feel that they are important,” said Stanton, who became mayor on Dec. 13. “Our residents do make a difference and we want to give them an opportunity to share their questions, problems and solutions, I want to hear their voice.”

Robinson may stay after all

February 14, 2012

Council looking to renew Town Manager’s contract

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Town Manager Frank Robinson could have a new three-year contract after tonight’s council meeting even though he announced last year he planned to leave in June.

If approved, Robinson’s contract would run through Feb. 2015 and would have a yearly price tag of $216,000, with an additional $650 monthly automobile allowance.

A discussion to replace him during the Jan. 24 meeting was pulled from the agenda with “no reportable action,” according to meeting minutes.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS