Biking enthusiast wants to organize bike race

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
After pedaling nearly 400,000 miles on his bike, suffering several heart attacks and surviving one open heart surgery, Chuck Hanson, 81, still has a lot of road to travel.

“I started riding in 1979 because I gained about 40 pounds and I needed to lose weight,” said Hanson, whose goal of losing a few pounds turned into a 33-year passion. “Before you know it, I was riding from San Francisco to L.A. on my 50th birthday, and riding cross-country five times.”

Q&A with Mark Taylor: Doing the right thing

July 3, 2012

Retired San Bernardino County Sheriff’s captain Mark Taylor was born in Ohio. Because his father was in the Air Force, the family moved to a lot of different places, including Europe for four years, when Taylor was in elementary school.
“This allowed me to see some wonderful places and things while I was growing up,” he said.
When his dad was transferred to George AFB in 1971, the family settled in Apple Valley.

Tags:

Apple Valley Soroptimists honor award winners

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Barbara Nunez was all smiles, as the bright-eyed teenager accepted the Soroptimist’s Violet Richardson Award for her more than of 700 volunteer hours at St. Joseph Health, St. Mary.

“Volunteering has really helped me in my maturity, and in so many other ways,” said Nunez, 17, who has served at the medical center for the last two years. “It’s given me a better understanding of life, and the people around me.”

Freedom Festival kicks off Wednesday afternoon

July 3, 2012

Celebrate freedom with live entertainment and fireworks from 2 to 9 p.m. Wednesday at the 14th annual Freedom Festival at Lenny Brewster Sports Center.

Festivities include children’s games, the Apple Valley Fire Protection District’s Jr. Combat Challenge, bounce houses, food, beer garden and vendors. There will be a water spectacular at 4:15 p.m., the national anthem at 6 p.m., live music from Lynyrd Skynyrd tribute band Southbound at 6:30 p.m. and a flag retirement at dusk.

Admission is free. Bring canopies and chairs, but no alcohol, pets or barbecues will be allowed.

Departments close for upcoming holiday

July 3, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Most Town departments will be closed in observance of Independence Day this week.

Apple Valley Town Hall will be closed Wednesday and Thursday, as well as Friday for its regularly scheduled bi-weekly closure.

Essential services will still be performed and building inspections will be offered on Thursday and Friday. The Household Hazardous Waste collection center will be open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

Arrest logs for July 3, 2012

July 3, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

June 27
Todd Carrick was arrested on suspicion of burglary.

Gilbert Reyes was arrested on suspicion of kidnapping.

Ronnie Jackson was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

Jeffrey Schwing was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Janice French was arrested on suspicion of assault and battery.

School rallies around sick teacher

June 26, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
With a crowd of wide-eyed fourth-graders seated around him, teacher Timothy MacConnell wore a surgical mask, as he tried to explain to his class how a recent bone marrow transplant saved his life.

For the last 25 years, MacConnell, 52, has poured his life into the children of Village Elementary School, but after being diagnosed with cancer about eight months ago, his young charges have poured their lives into him.

New fire chief pledges fiscal stability

June 26, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

As Sid Hultquist prepares to step into his role as Apple Valley Fire Protection District’s newest fire chief, high on his to-do list are achieving fiscal stability, maintaining morale during tough economic times and being good stewards of taxpayer dollars.

“We have to do what we can to cut expenses and to provide a high level of service to our customers,” said Hultquist, a 27-year fire veteran. “We’re looking at pension reform on our own and not waiting for the state to do it.”

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS