AV High School students honored for artwork

March 6, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Students at Apple Valley High School Visual Art Department entered their artwork in the California Region of The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Contest.
Sponsored by RIMS California Arts Project and the San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, the contest included a celebration on Feb. 23 to feature the work of contest winners. The winners’ pieces were also on display at the Robert and Frances Fullerton Museum of Art at Cal State San Bernardino.

Community Events

March 6, 2012

• LifeStream Community Blood Drive, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. today, Apple Valley Conference Center, 14975 Dale Evans Parkway.

• ‘Alice in Wonderland Jr.’ musical, 7 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday, Sycamore Rocks Elementary School multi-purpose room, 23450 South Road.

• Lifeguard Training, 7:45 p.m. Friday, Civic Center Park Aquatic Center, 14999 Dale Evans Parkway.

• Neighborhood Clean Up (A.V. residents only), 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday, Lion’s Park, 20701 Outer Highway 18 South.

Tags:

Around Town: He’s back

March 6, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

We have a new entry into the 1st District Supervisor sweepstakes: former assemblyman Anthony Adams.

You may recall Adams turned his back on his “no tax” Republican value system which caused a huge uproar, a recall campaign and his withdrawal from any re-election bid. Now, he’s back as a “No Party Affiliation” candidate for Supervisor. It should be easier to run and govern when you have no set principles — Democrat, Green, Libertarian or Republican — to bog you down.

Tags:

My Turn: Remembering Davy Jones

March 6, 2012

BY CHARLIE RAY
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

I am a Monkees fan. 

There, I’ve said it — a shocking confession for a full-grown man. Now I understand that “The Monkees” was a TV show, with actors hired to portray a rock and roll band. They weren’t even allowed to play their own instruments on their first two albums. (Why should they be? I doubt anyone would have trusted Marcus Welby with a scalpel.) 

Tags:

Arrest Logs

March 6, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Feb. 29
Danny Ho was arrested on suspicion of assault.
Jonathan Huerta was arrested on unknown charges.
Corey Wyatt was arrested on a narcotics charge.
Jason Stein was arrested on unknown charges.
Christopher Perez was arrested on a narcotics charge.
Scott Mckerlie was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Dream comes true for AV horse lover

February 28, 2012

Sue Sappok’s ‘Wildfire Ranch’ growing at steady pace

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Standing at attention, with their ears raised and eyes focused on every human movement, the three pregnant mares knew that it was feeding time at the Wildfire Ranch in Apple Valley.

“This is the maternity ward and these three are due to foaled in March and April,” said Sue Sappok, owner of the two-and-a-half acre horse ranch that is currently in the process of moving to a larger facility near Lucerne Valley.

Runner: Taxes, overregulation driving people out of Calif.

February 28, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
Overregulation and high taxes have fueled many of the moving trucks that helped people and businesses to leave California.

“The states my family drove through to get here in the ’50s are the same states people are moving to,” Board of Equalization member George Runner said during a Thursday lunch speech to the Rotary Club of Apple Valley.

AV’s first fire chief remembered

February 28, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
While firefighters struggled to save the Hilltop house from total destruction in 1967, Todd Johnson remembered the words of warning his grandfather spoke seven years earlier.

When the landmark house was under construction, Johnson said his grandfather, Louis Martin, Apple Valley’s first fire chief, said there would be no way to battle a blaze on the hill.

Council to consider funding for Chamber

February 28, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
The council will consider funding the Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce up to $18,820 for business retention services, after the chamber’s redevelopment monies were eliminated on Feb. 1.

Tuesday’s meeting will focus on the potential six-month contract between the chamber and the town, which would be reconsidered after each fiscal year.
During a Jan. 24 meeting, the council agreed to have town staff meet with the chamber to find alternative funding sources after the chamber’s RDA funds was
eliminated.

Q & A with Grant Pederson: Living, giving and learning

February 28, 2012

Grant Pederson is activities director at Sitting Bull Academy.

He was born in Apple Valley at St. Mary’s hospital in 1975 and lived in Riverside until his parents divorced. Growing up in a broken home his mom raised her three boys.

“She did a great job, and I had a very good childhood participating in karate, Little League, Awana’s, playing trumpet and riding my bike all over town,” Pederson said. “I saw my dad on weekends and we would go to the beach, play cards and work on yard or house projects.”

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS