Arrest logs for July 24, 2012

July 24, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

July 18
James Mejia was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Raul Ramirez was arrested on suspicion of felony theft.

Kelly Mcgill was arrested on unknown charges.

Sergio Lupian was arrested on unknown charges.

Charles Carr was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Tiarra Crafton was arrested on suspicion of assault.

'The baby's here!'

July 17, 2012

By Kristine McGowan
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

When 28-year-old Erika Leon started having contractions, she and her husband, Michael Leon, immediately jumped in the car and headed for St. Mary Medical Center.
But everything changed when Erika said, “I don’t think we’re gonna make it.”

As a mother of three, Erika Leon is no stranger to natural birth, having already given birth to two of her children without any medication. Even so, she said the delivery of her fourth child was “surreal.”

Q&A with Pete Ashlock: Cruising for a cause

July 17, 2012

Pete Ashlock, president of Sun City Cruisers, was born in Inglewood in August 1947. The family moved to West Covina when he was in second grade. He then lived there until he went into the Navy in January 1966.

“I joined the Navy because I had not been out of the state of California and I was sucked into their motto of “Join the Navy and see the World,” he said. “Well I did see a lot of the world and would not trade it for anything. Once I got out of the service I got married and had two sons, Andy and Aaron.”

Tags:

Town Council OKs Sitting Bull tract

July 17, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Mayor Barb Stanton worked overtime, as she tried to maintain civility during last week’s discussion to rezone property for a 168-home project along Sitting Bull Road.

When the dust finally settled, the project was approved on a 3-2 vote, but not before verbal punches were thrown by audience members and Councilman Curt Emick, who brought back the issue after he voted against it in March.

Retiring Chief Art Bishop looks back

July 17, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Knowing that he may be killed in action, U.S. Army draftee Art Bishop kissed his wife, Kathleen, goodbye in the spring of 1971 and waited for his orders to Vietnam.

“After she left for home, all my friends got word that they were headed to the jungle,” said Bishop, chief of the Apple Valley Fire Protection District. “Next thing I know, I’m near the Czech border in Germany, across from some 10,000 Russian tanks.”

A.V. Ranchos to pump $6M into upgrades

July 17, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Apple Valley Ranchos Water Co. is installing larger, 20- and 24-inch underground pipelines along Outer Highway 18 from the Hill Top Tank, adjacent to the historic Apple Valley Inn, to Lions Park, the company announced.

The north side pipeline construction began in early June. Ranchos expects to complete the project in August. The investment in the project is approximately $900,000, part of nearly $6 million Ranchos plans to spend on infrastructure improvements in Apple Valley throughout 2012.

Around Town: Just the facts, ma’am

July 17, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The breakdown of control and civility in our public discourse was no more in evident than at our Town Council meeting last week. Over the years, during particularly heated or controversial agenda issues, the rare personal attack would erupt. Almost always, the mayor — who purportedly controls the meeting — or the crowd itself would shut off this behavior rapidly. Not so anymore.

Tags:

Apple Valley's newest centenarian

July 10, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
As a tiny pink weight held down one of her helium-filled birthday balloons, senior Elda Johnston asked if that was her false teeth attached to the end of the string.

“She has such a wonderful sense of humor, and she is a joy to be around,” said Marsha Soboh, director of development at Apple Valley Christian Care Center. “For being 100 years old, she is a spitfire, and you’re in trouble if you’re good looking — she’s very much alive.”

Q&A with Mark Shoup: Mojave defender

July 10, 2012

Former Apple Valley mayor Mark Shoup was born in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Hs parents were high school sweethearts in Oak Ridge, a town created by the government during World War II to develop the atomic bomb.

“So I was born into a family that was in a sense brought together by war,” said Shoup. “My family moved around some when I was young, so as children my two younger sisters and I lived in small towns in Tennessee, New York, Illinois and Massachusetts.”

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS