County supervisors OK deal to repave Central Road

June 26, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

SAN BERNARDINO • The San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors has approved an agreement with Apple Valley to share the cost of repaving Central Road.

“This is an example of two jurisdictions working together to maintain an important route for our local citizens, while also making the most efficient use of taxpayers’ dollars by doing this as a single project,” said 1st District Supervisor Brad Mitzelfelt.

Around Town: Rock out on Thursday, man

June 26, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The Apple Valley “Concerts in the Park” began last week and happen every Thursday in Civic Center Park next to Town Hall on Dale Evans Parkway through the summer. This week, come on down and shake whatever booty you have left to the sounds of “classic rock.” How “classic” it is depends on your age I suppose but anything before hip-hop and rap qualifies for me. Except for a week off for the July 4 holiday, the concerts continue every Thursday through Aug. 9.

Tags:

Arrest logs for June 26, 2012

June 26, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

June 20
Joshua Miller was arrested on suspicion of burglary.

Leticia Correa was arrested on suspicion of driving offenses.

Paul Inman was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Raul Mejia was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Ryan Lambert was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

Steven Parry was arrested on unknown charges.

American Idol finalist Stevie Wright to kick-off Sunset Concert Series at Civic Center Park

June 19, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

When the sixth season of the Desert Valley Hospital Sunset Concert Series kicks off Thursday, it will be launched by locally grown American Idol finalist Stevie Wright.

“She really wowed the crowd when she performed at our Concert in the Courtyard last September,” said Town of Apple Valley Events Coordinator Julie Gilmer. “With the number of people who came out to see her and the response she got, I’m excited to bring her over to the amphitheater this summer. It’s going to be a great season.”

Q&A with David Snow: Making parties sing

June 19, 2012

David Snow was born and raised in Wilmington, Del. He has always enjoyed singing, and first got into the choir in third grade.

“I looked really cool, and this girl I really liked (at the time) was in it. And have been doing it ever since,” he recalled.

Snow did drama and the choir all through school, yet also played football, baseball, basketball, tennis, wrestled, ran track and played soccer.

“I was that kid who was just good enough to be in everything, but not the star of anything,” he said.

Council OKs PBID budget

June 19, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The council also approved the budget for the Village’s Property Business and Improvement District, should the special district receive approval for another five years.

Property owners voted for the special district in 2007, to improve the historic area by pooling their resources through self-imposed tax assessments and fees.

Part of those improvements include $27,000 for marketing, $20,000 for special signage and lighting, and $168,000 for property acquisition and improvements, for a total $853,654.

Council trims budget 2.5 percent

June 19, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
The council approved the Town’s $23.2 million operation and capital improvement budget for 2012-13, which was a decrease of $600,000 from the adopted budget of 2011-12.

“The budget was bittersweet with some of the cuts that we made, but most of the town services have been kept,” said Councilman Rick Roelle during the June 12 meeting. “I’m optimistic for the future of this town.”

Remembering Dale: 'She practiced what she preached'

June 19, 2012

By Dorothy M. Baird
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

I remember Dale as a loyal, trustworthy friend who showed the world where her strength came from through difficult times in her life. In other words she “practice what she preached”, that Jesus Christ was her Savior, Lord and guide in her life.

My late husband and I met Dale and Roy at Church of the Valley in the early 1980s. We developed a friendship with them and spent time playing card games, having meals together, and sharing about life and the challenges we had in our early lives.

Town boosts water-wise practices

June 19, 2012

BY THE TOWN OF APPLE VALLEY

The Town of Apple Valley is showing that water conservation practices aren’t only for residential consumers. Exchanging grass for cash, replacing sprinkler controllers and using waterless urinals are just a few of the water-saving measures the Town of Apple Valley has put into practice in recent weeks.

Ashley Berstrom wins Girl Scout Gold Award

June 19, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Ashley Bergstrom is a member of the Apple Valley Gun Club, Friends of the NRA and Junior ROTC Air Force program at the Academy for Academic Excellence.

So when she learned about a local shooting, she knew how she wanted to help.

As a Girl Scout Ambassador, the high school junior created a firearms safety program that has earned her the Gold Award, the highest award in the Girl Scouts.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS