Arrest Logs

February 28, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Feb. 22
Shapaula Moody was arrested on suspicion of petty theft.
Steven Hawkins was arrested on suspicion of burglary.
Christopher Brymer was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

A passion for coffee

February 21, 2012

A.V. residents roast organic coffee beans from fair trade farmers all over the world

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

With every bag of coffee sold, John Tonyan helps a farmer in a foreign country keep their dignity by giving them the opportunity to make a decent living.

Tonyan, who purchased more than 12,000 pounds of coffee last year, is introducing High Desert residents to a variety of fresh organic coffee from fair trade farmers in places like Ethiopia, Brazil and Papua New Guinea.

Town adds fees, cuts park, staff time

February 21, 2012

Cramer Family Park near Serrano, Rimrock roads to close

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

As the town faces an expected $1 million shortfall in the park and recreation budget for this year, the council approved recommendations to close one park, add activity fees and scale back staffing at special events.

Three changes will save the town approximately $250,000:
• Closing the Cramer Family Park near Serrano and Rimrock roads
• Reducing payroll hours during special events
• Establishing participation fees for certain activities.

Full house for 'Coffee with the Mayor'

February 21, 2012

Mayor Barb Stanton, staff meet with area residents

By Rene De La Cruz
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A crowd of nearly 50 people packed The Grind Coffee House in Apple Valley, in order to share their thoughts and concerns with Mayor Barb Stanton, who scheduled the event as part of her promise to keep the doors of transparency open.

Originally dubbed “Coffee with the Mayor,” the Thursday morning meeting quickly morphed into a networking event, where town residents met face-to-face
with Stanton, town staff and a variety of community leaders.

Historically speaking: Apple Valley’s good old days

February 21, 2012

By Ken Peterson
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

My earliest recollection of Apple Valley is when I was around 9 years old in 1953.

We made the trip on weekends from Lynwood to work on building my aunt and uncle’s one-room cabin in the Sycamore Rocks area of northern Apple Valley. There was nothing for miles after getting off of the I-15 Freeway except a scattering of homestead house throughout the desert.

Q & A with James Hubbard: Helping others beat depression

February 21, 2012

Jim Hubbard was born in 1944 in a small rural town in eastern Colorado about 150 miles east of Denver.

His parents taught their four children at a very early age how to work hard and be responsible and dependable. They all learned the realities of ranching: hard work, perseverance, self-sufficiency, pride — and at times — even stubbornness. Some of those traits became the hallmarks of his life, and others became somewhat of a problem as he grew older.

Tags:

Arrest Logs

February 21, 2012

Note: Due to a technical error, arrest logs for the days of Feb. 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13 were unavailable at press time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Feb. 15
Jonathan Gammill was arrested on suspicion of petty theft.
Joseph Lacanlale was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence.

Shock value

February 14, 2012

Marines, deputies motivate troubled students through SHOCK

By Pfc. Victoria Fairchild
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Local Marines and the Apple Valley Police Activities League are working together with 18 students from the Apple Valley Unified School District in a 10-week program called SHOCK, the acronym for self-discipline, honor, obedience, character and knowledge.

The program is designed to help direct troubled teenagers ages 13 to 17 in the right direction to a brighter future.

Q&A with Ray Hamel: Finding the joy in life

February 14, 2012

Rene “Ray” J. Hamel was born and raised in the small Massachusetts town of Gardner, about 70 miles west of Boston in July 1927.

Fearing the draft, Hamel enlisted in the Navy after high school and was stationed in the Philippines during World War II, where he enjoyed the people and culture during his two-year stay.

“World War II ended while I was in boot camp so I didn’t see any action,” Hamel said. “I didn’t like the military at all because I didn’t like taking orders, but I did my job.”

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS