Around Town: Just the facts, ma’am

July 17, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The breakdown of control and civility in our public discourse was no more in evident than at our Town Council meeting last week. Over the years, during particularly heated or controversial agenda issues, the rare personal attack would erupt. Almost always, the mayor — who purportedly controls the meeting — or the crowd itself would shut off this behavior rapidly. Not so anymore.

Tags:

Apple Valley's newest centenarian

July 10, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
As a tiny pink weight held down one of her helium-filled birthday balloons, senior Elda Johnston asked if that was her false teeth attached to the end of the string.

“She has such a wonderful sense of humor, and she is a joy to be around,” said Marsha Soboh, director of development at Apple Valley Christian Care Center. “For being 100 years old, she is a spitfire, and you’re in trouble if you’re good looking — she’s very much alive.”

Q&A with Mark Shoup: Mojave defender

July 10, 2012

Former Apple Valley mayor Mark Shoup was born in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Hs parents were high school sweethearts in Oak Ridge, a town created by the government during World War II to develop the atomic bomb.

“So I was born into a family that was in a sense brought together by war,” said Shoup. “My family moved around some when I was young, so as children my two younger sisters and I lived in small towns in Tennessee, New York, Illinois and Massachusetts.”

Town Council to revisit housing tract

July 10, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

It will be another round for the Town Council tonight as they discuss an Arizona developer’s fight to rezone property for a 168-home residential tract along Sitting Bull Road.

The council denied the project on a 3-2 vote on March 27, but two weeks later, Councilman Curt Emick, who originally voted against the housing project, said he wanted to revisit the project “on behalf of the citizens of Skyline Ranch, and all those in that area, and some community members.”

Phat Cat Swinger continues Sunset Concert Series

July 10, 2012

Phat Cat Swinger will take the stage as the sixth season of the Desert Valley Hospital Sunset Concert Series continues Thursday.

The swing group will perform from 6 to 9 p.m. Thursday at Apple Valley Civic Center Park adjacent to Apple Valley Town Hall and across from Super Target.

The concert will also feature an array of food choices, a beer garden, and a sampling of farmers market vendors. The park has inclined lawn seating for more than 1,500 people, so concert goers should bring blankets or portable chairs.

Opinion: ‘Valiant’ shutdown effort not so valiant

July 10, 2012

By Caleb Brown
SPECIAL TO THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Apple Valley, along with the rest of the High Desert, has benefited from California’s redevelopment agencies. Along with many other projects in the area, RDA funds provided assistance to develop the Jess Ranch Marketplace, which has brought many valued businesses to Apple Valley. However, Gov. Jerry Brown and the California High Courts have chosen to eliminate RDAs, which further underscores the prevailing belief that Sacramento is incapable of doing what is right for the people of California.

Tags:

Around Town: The ultimate self esteem trip

July 10, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

In my view, John and the Supremes had a terrible week not long ago where they made more than one wrong call regarding our Constitution. Most widely covered of course was the health care decision. The spin on that is that it’s up to us to elect people who won’t pass bad laws.

The court can’t help us with bad laws if they seem to be constitutional. Gosh, slavery, segregation and a host of other bad behaviors were attacked by the courts leading to change, but now it is up to us according to the Chief Justice.

Tags:

Arrest logs for July 10, 2012

July 10, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

July 4
Mason McKelvey was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

Ronald Arnold was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Larry Rustad was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Manuel Garcia was arrested on a narcotics charge.

Michael Crawford was arrested on suspicion of assault and battery.

Jose Guzman was arrested on suspicion of assault.

Town Council halts fee increases — for now

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
After discussing a resolution that would have raised a number of service fees, the council voted 5-0 to table the issue for a future meeting.

“We tout ourselves as business friendly, but this is not a welcome mat,” said Mayor Barb Stanton, during the June 26 meeting. “I’m against raising fees, every penny in the bank account is the people’s money.”

Biking enthusiast wants to organize bike race

July 3, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW
 
After pedaling nearly 400,000 miles on his bike, suffering several heart attacks and surviving one open heart surgery, Chuck Hanson, 81, still has a lot of road to travel.

“I started riding in 1979 because I gained about 40 pounds and I needed to lose weight,” said Hanson, whose goal of losing a few pounds turned into a 33-year passion. “Before you know it, I was riding from San Francisco to L.A. on my 50th birthday, and riding cross-country five times.”

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS