Around Town: Award-winning small business

June 19, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Last week, my bride and I attended the Small Business Recognition Day in Sacramento to be presented the 59th Assembly District Business of the Year Award by Tim Donnelly. My partner was otherwise occupied, so it was time to share the glory with my “other partner”.

The day began by the TSA seizing a pocket knife and my hair spray from my shaving kit. I explained I was from Mr. Donnelly’s district and we had our own interpretation of TSA rules — they were unmoved.

Tags:

Apple Valley Christian School now homeless

June 12, 2012

School vacates AV Baptist Church campus

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Between a mountain of history books and baseball memorabilia, Apple Valley Christian School teacher Rocky Lockwood boxed-up his personal belongings and placed them in his pickup truck.
“There are a lot of memories here,” said Lockwood, as he gazed intently on a framed photo. “It’s like saying goodbye to old friends.”

Every day is Father's Day for AV mayor

June 12, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Every morning, Bob Momjian, 86, sits downs for a breakfast meeting with Mayor Barb Stanton at Johnny D’s in Apple Valley.

“She may be the mayor to everyone in Apple Valley, but she’s my daughter,” said Momjian, as he cut into his apple waffle. “I’m proud of everything she has accomplished.”

Stanton picked up the relational torch and continued the 20-year-old, father-daughter tradition, after Stanton’s sister, Elizabeth, died of cancer in August 2011.

Apple Valley Christian Care Center receives High Desert Community Foundation grant

June 12, 2012

Apple Valley Christian Care Center, a non-profit skilled nursing center, received a $4,150 grant award from the High Desert Community Foundation for its Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Department.

The funds will be used to purchase rehabilitation equipment that will be used to help patients return home after surgeries and hospitalization and to enhance the physical capabilities of long-term medically fragile residents, the center said in a press release.

Day camp runs now through August

June 12, 2012

Children in kindergarten through sixth grade are invited to participate in an interactive summer day camp with the Town of Apple Valley.

This year’s theme will allow children to travel the world virtually with exposure to international foods, customs, crafts and games, according to a town press release. Parents should send along hats and sunscreen for outdoor activities, field trips to the pool and walks to the library.

St. Mary to host hospital tours

June 12, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

St. Joseph Health, St. Mary will host tours of the medical center on Thursdays throughout June.

The tours will take place from 1 to 1:30 p.m. starting at the front entrance of the Apple Valley hospital and will highlight the work and influence of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange.

To RSVP or for more information, call (760) 242-2311, ext. 5355.

Penna named assistant GM of AV Ranchos Water Co.

June 12, 2012

FROM STAFF REPORTS

Antonio “Tony” Penna Jr. has been named assistant general manager of Apple Valley Ranchos Water Co.

Prior to joining AV Ranchos, Penna served as the construction and energy efficiency manager for Victor Valley Wastewater Reclamation Authority and as vice president of Inland Energy, a consultant to the city of Victorville’s many energy projects.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS