Around Town: B-day blahs

December 11, 2012

By Pat Orr
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

On Wednesday, I have another birthday, a date which I share with Dionne Warwick, Cathy Rigby, Bob Barker, “Old Blue Eyes” Frank Sinatra and I’m sure many others. I was hoping to be in great spirits on 12/12/12 perhaps somewhere in Las Vegas betting on 12 at every roulette table.

But like a lot of people, I’m in a holiday funk.

Tags:

Arrest logs for Dec. 11, 2012

December 11, 2012

All names listed are residents of Apple Valley, and all suspected crimes were committed in San Bernardino County unless otherwise stated, as reported by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

Dec. 5
Tracey Johnston was arrested on suspicion of burglary.

Daniel Guzman was arrested on suspicion of burglary.

Michael Davis was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

Tailor Titus was arrested on suspicion of petty theft.

Christine Haas was arrested on suspicion of drunkenness.

Kids hit stage during talent competition

December 4, 2012

BY RENE DE LA CRUZ
STAFF WRITER

With the energy of a rock concert, a standing room only crowd cheered as Charlie Colbert, 11, masterfully played Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man" on her electric guitar.

“When my uncle died I saw his guitar and that started it all,” said Colbert, during Apple Valley’s Most Talented Kid competition on Friday.

After being tutored by many guitar teachers and playing at Memphis’ famous Beale Street, Colbert was completely relaxed on stage at James A. Woody Community Center.

Rumors swirl around empty Nikki’s Cafe

December 4, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
STAFF WRITER

Ever since owner Robin Angelopoulos and her family closed Nikki’s Cafe in 2011, rumors have swirled around the vacant property on the corner of Bear Valley and Apple Valley roads.

The first rumor began soon after Angelopoulos leased the property to Chase Bank, which planned to open a branch on site, but decided to pull the plug on the project because the town of Apple Valley supposedly asked Chase for $500,000 in infrastructure improvements. That rumor turned out to be false.

Chateau Court Christmas display ready to amaze

December 4, 2012

By Rene De La Cruz
STAFF WRITER

With nearly 400,000 lights and numerous decorations, Jim and Gloria Hopper have transformed their front yard into a Christmas wonderland that has drawn thousands of people over the last 10 years.

“We do it for our community, especially for the kids,” said Hopper, 64, a general contractor who began decorating the day after Halloween with his son and grandson. “If it wasn’t for all the people that drive by we wouldn’t do it.”

Q & A with Chris Hitt: Surrounded by family

December 4, 2012

Chris Hitt, owner of Hitt Plumbing Co., moved with his parents from Riverside to Apple Valley in 1960. Hitt started school in Apple Valley at Yucca Loma School. His first job was paper boy for the Victor Press newspaper. He then went to work for Bud Parker at Parker’s Garage.

“While going to Apple Valley High School, I worked for Hugh Golden at the Richfield Gas Station in the Village of Apple Valley and my dad (Carl Hitt) at Hi Desert Plumbers in the Village of Apple Valley.”

Tags:

Cruisers help out

December 4, 2012

Photo courtesy of Edda Aichinger

CHECK PRESENTATION: Sun City Cruisers members Jeannie Morgan, secretary, left, Larry Cooper, vice president, second from left, and Pete Ashlock, president, right, present Julie Norton, second from right, with a check for $13,000 to go to the Phoenix Foundation, a local nonprofit that helps families who’ve been through a tragedy due to an accident or violent crime. The check was the result of four fundraisers the club put on throughout 2012. For more information on the Phoenix Foundation, click on hdphoenixfoundation.com.

Who has the best Christmas decorations in town?

December 4, 2012

The Daily Press’ Weekender magazine is looking for homes dripping with Christmas lights and decorations for an upcoming annual feature. We will list your home as one of the “best dressed” holiday homes in the High Desert so others can drive by and enjoy.

Email a brief description of how many lights you have, what time they are on, types of displays and high-quality, clear digital photos with the subject “Weekender Christmas Lights” to DPWeekender@gmail.com.

Pages

Subscribe to Apple Valley Review RSS