You are here

Opinion

Voters, do your homework

September 30, 2014
Pat Orr

Around Town

Voters, do your homework
by Pat Orr

Way back, before anyone filed to run for Town Council, I warned you to watch the future candidates to see who supported them and who gave them campaign donations.

Recently, there have been some unsettling revelations about candidate Richard Bunck’s background and belief system as described in a recent Daily Press article.

Tags:

Are we an incubator?

September 23, 2014
Pat Orr

by Pat Orr
For The Apple Valley Review

Families are leaving Southern California’s metropolitan hubs at a faster rate than ever before. Areas like Los Angeles have experienced a decline of 20 percent in those aged 5-14 years in the last 13 years, according to Joel Kotkin of Chapman University.

Where are they going? The Inland Empire.

Central L.A. lost about 87,000 youngsters while low-cost housing drove new residents to places like the Victor Valley, according to Kotkin.

Tags:

Aloha!

September 16, 2014
Pat Orr

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

As you read this I am about two hours away from awakening on the island of Maui. So now you can be doubly envious that I get three more hours before dawn than you do in Apple Valley and I get to wake up in a cool place with the ocean lapping gently just steps away. Nah, nah, nah, nah!

Tags:

Changing neighborhoods

September 3, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

The comments I heard from some African-American leaders during the Ferguson, Missouri drama about how “the community changed but the police force didn’t” prompted me to ask a question: What are you supposed to do, terminate all the fire and police who aren’t black when the neighborhoods change? Then you think about the demographic changes that have and are still happening in Adelanto, Victorville, Hesperia and to a lesser degree here in Apple Valley.

Tags:

Around Town: Where did they go?

August 26, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

I have been asked by several readers, “What happened to the other editorial columns that used to appear in the Apple Valley Review on a weekly basis?”

Without coming right out and saying so, the implied comment was, “How can your junk survive when they cut out Dennis Prager?”

My short answer: “My junk is free.”

Tags:

Who's on first?

August 19, 2014

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

As promised last week I have some research on the candidates running for local elective spots in November and here is a snapshot of each race and what, if anything, I could find out (or guess) about the candidates.

Apple Valley Town Council
Incumbents Curt Emick (consulting pharmacist), Scott Nassif (local business owner) and Barb Stanton (retired broadcaster) have all filed and will be on the ballot and have put up the cash to have ballot statements. All three are registered Republicans.

Tags:

Around Town: Get out and stay out

August 6, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

The National Night Out is a program designed to bring communities together to interact with law enforcement in a friendlier than usual setting. Tuesday night (Aug. 5) is the 2014 NNO hosted at the SuperTarget on Highway 18 and co-sponsored by the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Apple Valley Station, the Apple Valley Police Activities League and Target.

Tags:

First November proposition scam alert

July 29, 2014

BY PAT ORR
FOR THE APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Here is your early warning about Prop. 45. While no catchy name has emerged from the State Attorney General’s Office for this proposed constitutional amendment, rest assured it will have some name like, “Stop Insurance Premium Increases Now” to convince the totally uniformed voter that it’s a good thing.
It isn’t.

The law would give State Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones the right to veto premium increases for health insurers doing business in California and further dictate benefits, co-pays and share-of-cost provisions.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion