You are here

Opinion

Is transparency a one-way street?

February 10, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The recent news stories and letters regarding the Town’s “Transparency Report” of current costs to acquire the water company all have quotes and some misused the information provided at a public meeting by the Town Finance Manager. That’s fine, the information is there to be examined, twisted and turned.

But where is the transparency from the water company?

Tags:

A good investment?

February 3, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Gov. Jerry Brown and others whined about a lack of funds to build our water infrastructure so like lemmings we went ahead and passed Proposition 1 enabling the Sacramento politicians to spend hundreds of millions on what exactly?

New dams, reservoirs and watershed projects were promised.

Well, they have actually started spending the money and here are the priority spending items they chose.

Tags:

The inmates are running the asylum

January 28, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The move toward diversity and political correctness has made another giant leap into ridiculousness with the news that "activists" are encouraging a boycott of the Academy Awards because not enough “people of color” are being recognized for achievement in film.

This is an industry so liberal that they now celebrate communists who were blacklisted during the 1950s.

Tags:

Stick it to the employers – always

January 22, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

I routinely complain about how tough it is to do business in California without ever using many specific examples.

I have owned a business in California since 1980. The first was tiny (my wife and I and a few part-timers); the second one has grown into a 200-employee operation.

My biggest concern is for the smaller retailer and service companies who survive payroll to payroll and wait by the mailbox for customer payments to come in to see if they can pay the rent.

Tags:

Unions on the run

January 12, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Yesterday, the United States Supreme Court heard arguments in a California case where several teachers have sued the California Teachers Unions for the freedom not to be forced to pay fees to the unions for services and activities they do not agree with.

Already California teachers can “opt out” of paying a portion of their dues that is allocated to political activity, but that isn’t the whole story.

Tags:

Things we learned in 2015 — maybe

December 30, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The first and probably the most easily understood lesson of 2015 is that it is good to have lots of money. Not just lots of money, but stupid “I can rent my own jet to fly to a football game” money.

This simple truism has allowed Donald Trump to co-opt the political process and thrust/buy his way into presidential politics. For the first time ever, having lots of money and being blunt to the point of bad taste is a political plus.

Who knew?

Tags:

Don’t sign it if you don’t understand it

December 16, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

California is both revered and ridiculed for its statewide ballot initiative process that allows voters to make changes to our state constitution.

The process is revered by those who believe democracy resides with the people, ridiculed by those who believe that elected officials and government should make all the decisions.

Tags:

What did the “special meeting” on water tell us?

November 23, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Really, what did we learn at the Apple Valley Town Council's special meeting Tuesday regarding the ongoing Water Wars?

Well, not much that we didn’t already know.

The Ranchos Water Company lawyers circulated a 17-page response to the Town’s Environmental Impact Report which raised objection to every element of the Town report including the paper stock it was printed on. A slight exaggeration, but that was their job.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion