You are here

Opinion

Cut regulations and improve incomes

May 26, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The liberals keep crying about California becoming a “service economy” filled with low-paying minimum-wage jobs. Their answer is to raise the minimum wage to a point where someone with no skills can enter the workforce and live comfortably. Got a family, a mortgage and car payments? No problem, your part-time job at Wendy’s should provide you with enough in salary and benefits to provide all that.

Tags:

Would he really?

May 20, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Last week’s piece about the Feinstein legislation prompted a call from San Bernardino County 1st District Supervisor Robert Lovingood to say that once he thought about the threat to have President Barry take unilateral action if the proposed legislation didn’t get passed, it just made no sense.

Tags:

Feinstein’s desert bill exposes divided interests

May 12, 2015

Apple Valley supports it, but County Supervisor Lovingood doesn't

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Sen. Dianne Feinstein’s staff has been “working” the High Desert communities for some time now to line up support for her newly revised California Desert Conservation and Recreation Act with some success. This is a follow-up and enhancement of the 1994 California Desert Preservation Act which Feinstein sponsored.

Tags:

Taxed enough already?

May 6, 2015

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Rather than attempt to reduce waste in programs we already have and refuse to extend benefits to millions more, our legislative brain trust is contemplating new ways to tax Californians. The ploy, which is often used successfully, is to dangle the prospect of reducing taxes in one area so we will vote in new taxes in another area. The truth is a tax, once levied, never goes away no matter what they tell us.

Tags:

Let’s try for information sharing

April 29, 2015

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

At 6:30 p.m. today in the Town Conference Center, a “special” meeting/workshop will be held to discuss the possible financing options available to the town should they be successful in their efforts to take over Apple Valley Ranchos Water Company.

Even the phraseology can get political — is it a purchase or a seizure?

Tags:

Buyer beware

April 22, 2015

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Buried deep in a list of “job killer” bills distributed by the California Chamber of Commerce is a gem we all need to be aware of.

Assembly Bill 1897, which is now law, allows an employee to sue the entity that hired a contractor for wage, hour and workman’s compensation violations.

Tags:

Your profitability question answered

April 2, 2015

Last week I wondered here why it was that the Carlyle Group was willing to sell off Park Water — the owner of Apple Valley Ranchos Water Company — so quickly after all the trouble and expense of purchasing the company just four short years ago. I quickly got my answer and some background from Park Water executive Chris Schilling and AVR General Manager Tony Penna.

Tags:

A fool and his golf ball are soon parted

March 25, 2015

BY PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce will take over the Apple Valley Golf Course on Monday for the fifth annual "Ain't No Foolin' Open" tournament. Beside the usual fun, frivolity, slices, hooks and mulligans there will be a “ball drop” after which some lucky winner will walk away with cold hard cash. There is still time to join and play a round and buy a ball. I will be there somewhere hacking out of the trees and using inappropriate language.

Gee, I love golf.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion