You are here

Opinion

Don't be 'the lonely'

May 3, 2016

Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Hopefully you already have your tickets for one of the Roy Orbison Tribute shows this Thursday and Friday night at the Apple Valley Golf Course.

If not, as the song goes, you might know how “only the lonely” feel because everyone else will be rockin' to the beat of one of the icons of the early rock-n-roll era.

Tags:

About those GOP delegates

April 27, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The news media has been all a twitter reporting the “outrage” of Donald Trump over the fact that “party bosses” are not rewarding him for votes cast and that delegates' loyalty is a fragile thing.

What he must not comprehend is that all delegates, regardless of which candidate they are pledged to, are party regulars who for the most part agree ahead of time to pay their own way to the convention (in this case, lovely Cleveland, Ohio) for the “experience” of attending.

Tags:

Random thoughts about California

April 19, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

We are entering the fifth year of a drought and new numbers from last year show that the water cut backs in 2015 caused $2.7 billion in economic damage to the state, not the least of which were the contributing factors of 640,000 acres of farm land going fallow and the loss of 117,000 agricultural jobs.

Yet, we see no plans for new dams or infrastructure to capture or route our water around the highly prized (by some) Delta Smelt as it flows into the sea in Northern California, which, by the way, has plenty of water.

Tags:

Caltrans a waste of time and your money

April 5, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The fact that California roadways continue to deteriorate despite having the highest road use taxes in the nation speaks to the inefficiency, waste and mismanagement of the funds entrusted to Caltrans.

The state auditor reported last week that Caltrans spent $250,000 on a report that outlined a plan to streamline and improve efficiencies. Caltrans duly reported to the Legislature that the plan was being implemented.

They lied.

Tags:

Could the California presidential primary matter?

March 29, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

California Republican Party officials are all a twitter because for the first time in decades our later-than-most June 7 primary may actually have a bearing on who gets the nomination for the GOP.

This also means the April 30 state party Fall Convention held in Burlingame will have the potential to host whoever is left standing in the race at that point. We seldom get Republican presidential contenders out here, except to raise money.

Tags:

The water merry-go-round

March 22, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

News Report: Governor extends drought restrictions for another season.

News Report: Officials think drought may be over due to reservoir water levels and Sierra snowpack.

Huh?

The totally mixed messages of the last few weeks in California’s water reporting has me somewhat confused.

Tags:

Your annual St. Patrick’s tutorial

March 15, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Like 11 percent of the American population, I trace my roots back to Ireland. Come this Thursday, everyone will run around, wear some garish green clothing and over indulge in salty beef and beer without knowing exactly why.

Each year I endeavor to illuminate more on the topic of St. Patrick, the patron Saint of Ireland and the celebrations that surround the (purported) anniversary of his death.

Tags:

Raise the tax and wait to see what happens

March 8, 2016

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Last week the State Legislature voted to pass a new tax on all Managed Care Organizations (MCOs), which will raise $1.4 billion to fund Medi-Cal. The plan helps bail out insurance companies who are losing big money on Obamacare/Medi-Cal through tax breaks while imposing this tax on new MCOs that don’t even work in the Medi-Cal market.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion