You are here

Opinion

A fool and his golf ball are soon parted

March 25, 2015

BY PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

The Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce will take over the Apple Valley Golf Course on Monday for the fifth annual "Ain't No Foolin' Open" tournament. Beside the usual fun, frivolity, slices, hooks and mulligans there will be a “ball drop” after which some lucky winner will walk away with cold hard cash. There is still time to join and play a round and buy a ball. I will be there somewhere hacking out of the trees and using inappropriate language.

Gee, I love golf.

Tags:

Another community hero

March 18, 2015

BY PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

I like to highlight individuals in our community who, in one way or another, are responsible for the Apple Valley we live in today. One such individual is Dick Allen. Dick is a lesson for all persons facing retirement that life isn’t over for you when you leave your job behind.

Dick did a stint in the Army during the Korean War and then went to work for 3M. He first bought property in Apple Valley in 1958. Dick retired after 40 years with 3M and moved with his wife Shirley to Apple Valley in 1988.

Tags:

Surprise water find

March 3, 2015

BY PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

Last week the Town Council approved money to design and install a pump on a heretofore forgotten well at the Apple Valley Golf Course. The old main well was in such disrepair that few wanted to spend the money to fix it and for quite some time Apple Valley Ranchos has kindly been selling town water at a reduced rate to keep the golf course alive.

Tags:

Good idea, you’re welcome

February 24, 2015

PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A recent release from Sharon Runner’s camp says that one of the first pieces of legislation she will propose is to make it legal to “appoint” someone to a State Senate or Assembly seat when there is only one qualified candidate running for that office and forgo the expense of an election whose outcome is certain – like hers to the 21st State Senate Seat March 17.

That a good, sound, fiscally responsible idea that I proposed in last week’s column. Gosh, I hope she's as responsive to all my suggestions when she gets to Sacramento.

Tags:

Taking another shot at it

February 10, 2015

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Saturday is Valentine’s Day – the favorite holiday of lovers, florists and Hallmark stores.

RoyDales, which is the name bestowed on the restaurant at the Apple Valley Golf Course, is hosting a four-course all-inclusive meal with two seatings at 5 and 7:30 p.m. When we last ventured to RoyDales the experience was uneven, but it is impossible to resist the lure of a good meal two minutes from my house so I and a hearty bunch of friends will take another shot at it.

Tags:

Around Town: Sit! Stay!

January 27, 2015

by Pat Orr

If you fancy yourself a “dog person,” there is nothing this short of heaven like having a well-trained pooch that does what it’s told, when it’s told.

I took my very first yellow labrador to training where he taught me the ropes. Once we got our certificate and got home after a seven-week course, Sam began to modify the rules somewhat. Between episodes of restraining him from eating the mailman and swimming in our pool 10 times a day, I had little time to reinforce our training.

Tags:

Around Town: Now, for something totally different

December 16, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Last week I spent four days in Babylon by the Bay (San Francisco) to celebrate an anniversary and my entry-into-Medicare-birthday. Having spent my college years there during the late ’60s and early ’70s, I am well aware of the far-left leanings of the government and residents in this part of the state. After all our governor, assistant governor, state attorney general and at least one Senator all came out of local bay area politics to prominence.

Tags:

Around Town: 'There will be blood'

December 2, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

This quote from a recent movie about the fight over oil rights in early California also appears to be an apt observation for what looms in the battle over water in Apple Valley. Because the water rate issue was a political hot button during the recent Town Council election, the rhetoric and intensity of the entire issue has just increased rather than died down.

Tags:

The game is afoot — again

November 18, 2014

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Soon-to-be former 33rd Assemblyman Tim Donnelly, R-Twin Peaks, stopped in at the Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce’s Governmental Affairs Meeting last week to say goodbye and discuss local issues.

Naturally, he was pressed about his future plans.

He acknowledged that several folks have come to him suggesting he consider running in the special election which Governor Sunspot will call, probably for March, to fill the State Senate seat vacated by Steve Knight who is moving up to Congress.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion