You are here

Opinion

No empire building

August 26, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Folks who oppose town takeover of the Apple Valley Ranchos Water Company usually end up charging that the Town is trying to expand their government empire on the backs of a private company.

Tags:

No drop in the bucket

August 11, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Quietly last week, the Town put their new/old water well into service and began filling one of the larger lakes at the golf course used as a reservoir and system “pump out” location. To continue using Apple Valley Ranchos water at the standard commercial rate would have cost the Town over $450,000 a year, according to Assistant Town Manager Dennis Cron.

Tags:

A born leader

August 4, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

As part of my occasional series on community leaders, I want to share the story of Dick Pearson.

Richard P. Pearson was born in upstate New York and grew up enthralled with flying. World War II Flying Aces were his heroes and he took to the air even before he started college. When he graduated from Trinity College with a degree in economics in 1954 he joined the U.S. Air Force and went right into pilot training.

Tags:

Toll lanes, part two

July 28, 2015

By Patt Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Last week at the Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce Luncheon, a nice man from the San Bernardino Associated Governments presented information on the future of our Interstates 10 and 15 corridors.

Tags:

Remember the message of Knute Rocke

July 21, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Starting with the July 4 holiday weekend, I've heard nothing but an endless stream of unhappy people lament about the decline of America.

People always complain. People who are in the party not in the White House usually complain the loudest. But this round of constant negativism about a laundry list of bad decisions made by President Barry and his minions — not the cute ones in the theaters — have conservatives, independents and a lot of folks who don’t wear a label spinning out of control.

Tags:

Oh yeah? Your mother wears army boots

July 14, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

The back-and-forth between Apple Valley Ranchos and the Town is getting a little like a school yard shouting match between fourth graders.

The Town talks about surcharges and ungainly profits. AVR says nanna-na-na we are pulling your water discount.

The Town takes ads in the newspaper. Ranchos takes bigger ads and both sides flood the Daily Press with disingenuous letters-to-the-editor ghost written by their respective hired public relations firms.

Tags:

Around Town: Random declarations

July 9, 2015

Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Having been given free ink, I feel compelled now and again to give unsolicited advice to whom ever picks up this paper. In that vein I have the following suggestions/observations:

Make a desert golf course

Back when the debate raged over acquiring the golf course there was a plan floated to reduce costs by remaking this golf course in to a “desert style” track.

Tags:

You can make a day of it

June 30, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

No one can complain there's nothing to do in town this weekend.

To get your day rolling on Saturday, take the kiddos down to the Aquatic Center at Civic Center Park and register for the barbecue and swim party. The fee includes the barbecued food.

Tags:

Why are we the best?

June 23, 2015

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Apple Valley consistently scores as the best place to live and work in the High Desert. We don’t have a big shopping mall or a Trader Joe’s or an easy path to the freeway which leads to all those places. So why then do people want to live and work here?

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion