You are here

Opinion

Good idea, you’re welcome

February 24, 2015

PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

A recent release from Sharon Runner’s camp says that one of the first pieces of legislation she will propose is to make it legal to “appoint” someone to a State Senate or Assembly seat when there is only one qualified candidate running for that office and forgo the expense of an election whose outcome is certain – like hers to the 21st State Senate Seat March 17.

That a good, sound, fiscally responsible idea that I proposed in last week’s column. Gosh, I hope she's as responsive to all my suggestions when she gets to Sacramento.

Tags:

Taking another shot at it

February 10, 2015

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Saturday is Valentine’s Day – the favorite holiday of lovers, florists and Hallmark stores.

RoyDales, which is the name bestowed on the restaurant at the Apple Valley Golf Course, is hosting a four-course all-inclusive meal with two seatings at 5 and 7:30 p.m. When we last ventured to RoyDales the experience was uneven, but it is impossible to resist the lure of a good meal two minutes from my house so I and a hearty bunch of friends will take another shot at it.

Tags:

Around Town: Sit! Stay!

January 27, 2015

by Pat Orr

If you fancy yourself a “dog person,” there is nothing this short of heaven like having a well-trained pooch that does what it’s told, when it’s told.

I took my very first yellow labrador to training where he taught me the ropes. Once we got our certificate and got home after a seven-week course, Sam began to modify the rules somewhat. Between episodes of restraining him from eating the mailman and swimming in our pool 10 times a day, I had little time to reinforce our training.

Tags:

Around Town: Now, for something totally different

December 16, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

Last week I spent four days in Babylon by the Bay (San Francisco) to celebrate an anniversary and my entry-into-Medicare-birthday. Having spent my college years there during the late ’60s and early ’70s, I am well aware of the far-left leanings of the government and residents in this part of the state. After all our governor, assistant governor, state attorney general and at least one Senator all came out of local bay area politics to prominence.

Tags:

Around Town: 'There will be blood'

December 2, 2014

By Pat Orr
Apple Valley Review

This quote from a recent movie about the fight over oil rights in early California also appears to be an apt observation for what looms in the battle over water in Apple Valley. Because the water rate issue was a political hot button during the recent Town Council election, the rhetoric and intensity of the entire issue has just increased rather than died down.

Tags:

The game is afoot — again

November 18, 2014

By Pat Orr
For the Apple Valley Review

Soon-to-be former 33rd Assemblyman Tim Donnelly, R-Twin Peaks, stopped in at the Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce’s Governmental Affairs Meeting last week to say goodbye and discuss local issues.

Naturally, he was pressed about his future plans.

He acknowledged that several folks have come to him suggesting he consider running in the special election which Governor Sunspot will call, probably for March, to fill the State Senate seat vacated by Steve Knight who is moving up to Congress.

Tags:

Thank you, vets!

November 11, 2014
Pat Orr.

by PAT ORR
APPLE VALLEY REVIEW

On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918, the fighting stopped marking the “unofficial” end of World War I. A year later President Woodrow Wilson declared Nov. 11 a day of national remembrance, aptly named “Armistice Day.”

Tags:

Which way will we go?

October 28, 2014
Pat Orr

By Pat Orr
For The Apple Valley Review

The election a week from today will set the course for our town for years to come. The current council has been a part of a valleywide cooperative effort to jointly market and attract new business.

The “love fest” with the leaders in Hesperia and Victorville is a far cry from the old days when we tried to outmaneuver each other and subtly promote ourselves while dismissing our neighbors as sub-par.

Tags:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion